“Fat.” Yeah, I said it.

Standard

You know, I’ve realized something: Some bromos are hefty.

Be it big, healthy, husky, fluffy, DAMN!!! or Oh Hell No!, as described by Gabriel Iglesias in his stand up comedy shows, the body, if it is larger than what we consider “average” is subject to being politicized and ridiculed. Fuck that. Bromos over a certain weight are just more to love and can still be beautiful despite what society says. And respect in the highest to the everyday heroes and activists who own their size. (Above photo taken from Unikorna–link to her royal majesty by clicking the pic! 🙂 )

Now while I’m all for empowerment for as many non-normative ways of being as possible (so long as the tenants of self-respect and respect for others are recognized and followed), I do recognize that being larger can cause some health concerns. But you don’t need to be as thin as a stairway rail in order to be accepted. There are also health concerns associated with skinniness, but because thinness is privileged, you don’t really hear much about that. You don’t even need to be “average”; you can be whatever it want so long as it pleases you and doesn’t harm anyone.

I’m just going to put it out there: If you like eating Ben & Jerry’s Cherry Garcia at midnight because your dinner AT SIX O’ CLOCK isn’t sustaining you, FUCK WHAT ANYBODY ELSE THINKS! You go to the store, get it and wolf that shit the fuck down. And if anybody says anything, they can go get bent. …Besides, you can use that walking to the store thing as an exercise write-off if you’re breaking your nutrition/exercise regimen.

Now I’m not going to lie: In society, we are taught that it’s not OK to be fat. In macho society, not being an Adonis-sculpted deity is grounds for ridicule. But in the parallel realm of heteo-relations, men can get away with “letting themselves go” while women are expected keep that body fit and tight. And of course, in woman-world, fat go to the back. Gay male society tends to take from woman world and we hold ourselves to ridiculous standards. Males are generally built larger than women, so why are we striving to be a size zero?

And it’s hard to break out of this hegemonic cycle of body-conscious hierarchy in which the thinner or muscled bodies are privileged above those with a little extra.

Even as I write this, I realize that I am cursing myself for eating a can of Pringles, drinking an Orange Mango FUZE, and having just polished off a Kit-Kat and Hershey’s Bar. I realize that in the back of my mind, society is calling me, telling me that I need to get my ass to the gym tomorrow morning or afternoon. And then there’s the part telling me that if I don’t go to the gym, I’d better not eat for a few days to pay for having eaten so late. I am 5’11 and I currently weigh 175 lbs as of the end of this summer. I had been 155 lbs. The worst part is that I have the nerve to consider myself big. And I reinforce that with my gal pals: Complaining how I never go to the gym, how the Wheat Thins are really Wheat Fats in disguise, mentally finding flaws throwing shade at my roommate when he can commit to a workout schedule and I’m blogging or abstaining from the devil’s sweatshop homework. It’s hypocritical, but there’s a ring of fat around my lower torso that I want gone and replaced with abs. In fact, I’m wondering if I’m including this in the blog because I know that I myself am not considered large by society and I would like the validation; someone to confirm “you’re fine.” I mean, wasn’t this blog post supposed to be a guide for bromos, not my personal life on blast? It’s vanity, it’s disgusting, and I wish I were stronger to resist these superficial whimsies. The power of society is strong, but we can out-think it and indulge in the ultimate revolutionary act against market society: Just be ourselves and be happy with us as we are.

Aside from our personal struggles to be comfortable in our skin, it is the duty of the bromo to be kind to and respect everybody despite their size. So long as we can find reasons within ourselves to be confident, poised, and intelligent, it doesn’t matter if we are the size of a pencil, a Pringles can or a planet. In fact, our bromo Adele is a little larger, and we still love her, she’s still amazingly talented, and I PRAY that she continues to be an inspiration for everyone who wants to change the face of our normative appearances. We ourselves may not be perfect, but we can sure be ourselves perfectly.

One response »

  1. You sure know how to use your words as a weapon :). A useful fantastic weapon. I like your attitude, I find myself in some of your reactions, what can I say I am glad I found your blog.

Leave a Reply

